Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
12,775 Posts
I think you have to ask yourself how many post holes you will be digging and is a one-shot and done job or will you have a continual need to be digging post holes.

I have no experience with the stump bucket but I don't think it would work very well for post holes as you would end up having to dig a very large diameter hole to get any depth for the post.

If you see a lot of post holes in your future then perhaps a tractor mounted unit would be warranted.

Have you considered renting a powered post hole digger? These can be rented for a very modest sum. Most require two people for ease of operation.

You can even BUY a 2-stroke post hole digger for around $200. The one shown below is from Amazon and comes with the augers shown. I'm sure it isn't commercial quality but for a one-time job it should be fine.

Attachments

·
Registered
2,449 Posts
I have drilled many holes with the 2305. I have been able to find 3pt Attachments at local rental centers. Works great for things you use rarely like a post hole digger. The only reason I rented a mini skid steer to do my fence last month is allot of large sandstone and tree roots. The only reverse on the PTO is a pipe wrench on the shaft. The mini skid steer was hydraulic so it had reverse. It also had down pressure on the mini skid steer which helped with the roots.

The two times I used the tractor was in old field area and it worked like a charm. Pictures are from my last house in WI.

0E4C1B44-4350-4011-82A0-1A6E0737DDDA.jpeg

63577AB6-C304-4DC7-B45A-DC1B938F6A70.jpeg

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
That looks like the wrong tool for the job. As stated above, if you don't plan on drilling a lot of holes, go rent, I bought a PHD with my 1025R as I know it will get used every summer.