Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
279 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I can hear that song in my head now: There's a cute little girl she's a working there....... When I get back to the sugar shack.......

I have been tapping trees on my property for a couple years now and evaporating sap down to syrup the hard way. In buffet serving trays on an open fire. It took 10 hours a day to get 30 - 35 gallons boiled down to syrup.

So wanting to expand to get more than a couple gallons a year it's time to up grade the whole process.

First I purchased a hobby evaporator that will boil off 9 gallons of water an hour. 1/3 the time it took the other way. The evaporator will be here middle September.

Now a place to put it. How about a 12 X 16 foot sugar shack. That's the plan but could change in the process. But a 12x16 seems to be the best fit.

So to start the project I started up my Deer 1023e and headed down to the back lot.

First I had to move a couple small rocks. So on went the grapple. Here is one of the little critters:

DSC_0272.JPG

Then I had to move my compost piles from the shack location.

DSC_0263.JPG

Then scrape off the surface soil:

DSC_0264.JPG

I decided to place the shack on 12" on 1-1/2 inch crushed stone. So I dug down 8 inches so the stone will only be 4 inches above grade when done. I'm doing it this way because in real big rain storms the location puddles with water. I'm solving that with the crushed rock and drainage pipes that lead out the back corner into the lower woods.

Here is the excavation. I did all the work then put a laser level on it. I must be good:cool: because the entire area is level to within 1 inch.:good2:

DSC_0265.JPG

I'm hoping that the rock will get here by end of this week and I can build the base. I'll post more pics then.