Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to be removing some bushes and possible small tree's with from my landscaping this Spring. The tree has an approximate diameter of 6" or so. The bushes have a diameter of around 4" or so. I am hoping to use my loader in removing these the best I can. I tried to pull them out last year, but they wouldn't budge. I'm looking at possibly a Piranha Bar, etc. How would you use that in this application? Short ramming type movements to cut through the roots? Just looking for a little guidance here as I have never done this before. Thanks!

·
Registered
754 Posts
Rent a mini-excavator. The bigger the better, bigger will be faster.

I've had bushes that size I had BOTH my antique tractors chained to, both weighed about 7000# each at the time, one is 35 HP, other is 50 HP, both sitting with both rear wheels on concrete so traction was good.

Finally had to cut some roots with my P-C Tiger Saw to get them out.

·
Registered
4,011 Posts
Just took out some on Friday. One tree was 6-8 inches in diameter. It had to be done this time of year as the ground is so soft here in the midwest. Push the tree over by placing the loader against it about 6ft or so up on the tree. If successful, then put the edge of the loader bucket under the roots and dig it out. May take more than one attempt. Be aware that because the ground is so soft, that you will dig some serious ruts with the tractor wheels that will need to be fixed later. My ruts were so deep the undercarriage was dragging on my 4066R.

Dave

·
Registered
1,312 Posts
Push the tree over by placing the loader against it about 6ft or so up on the tree.
Do NOT do that with a dead tree - or any tree that may break. They can (and do) break off up high and land on you.

·
Registered
106 Posts