Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am taking delivery of a 2018 2025R with FEL, Frontier RC2060 rotary cutter, ballast box, auto throttle, I-Match and 3 point tractor receiver hitch this week. I have no tractor experience other than garden tractors. I did drive forklifts of many sizes for a company for several years. I realize that this is not a monster machine by any means but am sure one could get hurt or worse on the smaller machines probably easier than the big boys.

What advise and tips can one and all give me about operating a tractor safely and competently? Of course a cover to cover reading of the owners manual will be a must. Thanks!

·
Registered
588 Posts
Watching "Tractor Time with Tim" videos on YouTube would be a great place to start. I'm not sure if he actually has a video on operating a tractor, but just observe him in his many videos.

·
Registered
2,149 Posts
And “tractors with Mike” videos
As for bucket work, use proper ballast and keep it low and slow.
You are off to a good start by just asking your question
Enjoy that new :greentractorride:

·
Registered
2,149 Posts
Where is the post someone put up, it was from some tractor think tank about proper tractor operations.
It was a very good read....and perhaps either a stickie or posted prominently on forum for anyone to read:bigthumb:

·
Registered
4,974 Posts
Safety tips

These will all be in the owners manual that you are reading cover to cover but they are worth drilling into your work habits.

1. Before starting the tractor do your safety and fluid checks.
  2. Lubricate as per the book(s). If you don't have a grease gun, get one and the proper grease. Use dry lubes or Fluid Film on moving parts without grease fittings.
  3. ]Use the seat belt. You have a ROPS and it's designed to work with the seat belt.