Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to tractor ownership. I have a 1023e that came along with a house purchase. Still getting to know the tractor but have done an oil/filter change, blade sharpening, and other routine maintenance tasks. I'm assuming that the "covers" on the rear wheels are wheel weights, correct??? I've seen videos about how they go on and come off but haven't had any reason to try and remove them. Is there any way to tell if the rear tires, and front tires I'm guessing, also contain liquid ballast without trying to bleed them off to see? Don't have any records from previous owner that indicates either way. Any input is appreciated. Thanks!

Attachments

·
Premium Member
Early 2017 Vintage 1025R TLB (260/H120)
1,904 Posts
Nice toy to come with the house! How many hours?
Please take some time to learn about rear ballast as I do see a loader, but no ballast in the pic. - The wheel weights are not enough.

Reactions: Mackford13

·
Registered
2,070 Posts
The weights on that machine is a plastic shell with 50lbs of cement inside. There are also 72 lb cast iron starter weights and 50 lb cast iron weights. They can be stacked on the wheels with very long bolts. The plastic one you have is not stackable.
You should remove your weight sometime to check your wheel bolts as a preventative maintenance item. They can loosen up over time.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Nice toy to come with the house! How many hours?
Please take some time to learn about rear ballast as I do see a loader, but no ballast in the pic. - The wheel weights are not enough.
Only had 215 hours on it and is a 2014. I have used the loader for snow and sand and never came close to having an issue with the loader pulling it down forward.

·
Registered
598 Posts