Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
2,240 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ll start off by saying I’m just a weekend hobbyist. I’ve always used craftsman tools but all mine are from pre-2000 when they were USA made.

I’d like to add a set of gear wrenches to my stable. I can’t find any craftsman ones that are made in the USA.

What all do you guys use. I would love to be able to afford snap on or Mac but that’s out of the question for now.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

·
Registered
1,067 Posts
Our power tools are all yellow cept for a few odds and ends. We've upgraded most of 18 volt stuff to 20. Much lighter. Mechanic tools are a menagerie of odds and ends of USA made tools with just a few harbor freight thrown in.:thumbup1gif:

·
Registered
4,420 Posts
I’ll start off by saying I’m just a weekend hobbyist. I’ve always used craftsman tools but all mine are from pre-2000 when they were USA made.

I’d like to add a set of gear wrenches to my stable. I can’t find any craftsman ones that are made in the USA.

What all do you guys use. I would love to be able to afford snap on or Mac but that’s out of the question for now.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
I have Taiwan craftsman ratcheting wrenches. Never had any issues with them.

It's funny because I lost one once, so I ordered a new one. Guess what? it is US made, and it has a finer tooth that the china ones.:bigthumb: there are US made ones, but its a gamble finding them.

·
Registered
2,801 Posts
Proto has a pretty good line of hand tools in the low-medium price arena.

·
Old Pa-pa
11,151 Posts
Proto has a pretty good line of hand tools in the low-medium price arena.
Have some old (30 - 40 years) Proto punches, impact sockets, ratchets, breaker bars, extender shafts and a few other
things, still going strong. :good2:

·
Registered
1,514 Posts
Gearwrench.
Im partial to Snap-on for ratchets and wrenches, but for ratcheting, Im not paying that kind of money.