Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 88 Posts

·
Administrator
20,877 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I found one of my trailer's wooden planks is rotten just below what looks to be a good board. If I'm to replace one board, I'll replace them all. My question is what kind of lumber should I use? Any pretreating of the wood prior to installation? This trailer sits out in the weather and sun with no protection. I was using used oil on the boards for protection, but it seems like that's not currently going to do anything for these boards. I didn't do this for the first 4-5 years I owned it. I'm not sure what kind of wood was used by the factory, I'm not a wood expert by any means.:lol:

My trailer is 20' Load Trail with full length boards.

Any suggestions that won't cost me thousands of dollars?

·
Super Moderator
2,707 Posts
Jason,
I just replaced the floor on my trailer. I used 2 x 10 treated lumber and then I painted them. I often thought how well a composite decking boards would do?

Reactions: johnH123

·
Administrator
20,877 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I thought about composite, but it's very weak compared to real lumber. I use my trailer for anything and everything. Whatever goes back on needs to be as tough or tougher than what's there.

Do you know what kind of treated lumber? I'm assuming pressure treated pine? I'm not sure the newer pressure treated stuff won't attack the steel in the trailer. They advise you to use special fasteners at the lumber store due to the treatment used in the wood.

·
Premium Member
9,737 Posts
Most of the time #2 Pressure Treated Pine is what is used.

You could talk to your local lumber yard and see if there is anything else that would work better / last longer.

Found this on PJ Trailers Website: Rubber Infused Wood

Blackwood Rubber Infused Lumber - PJ Trailers

·
Senior GTT Super Slacker
37,816 Posts
This is a million dollar question and one that has always plagued me.
:munch:

·
GTT's Pilot in Command (PIC)
8,558 Posts