Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I have been trailering heavy equipment for a few years now. I have not have an incident yet. Yet. I just upgraded from a 770 to a 3039r cab tractor. I have an 18' 10k trailer that I use.

My question is: tow tractor forward facing or rear facing?? I always did it forward facing, but I read my owners manual for the 3039r, yes I read that thing, and according to Deere you are supposed to tow it backwards due to the possibility of the hood coming open. So I towed it home last night backwards. I HATED IT, I like towing it forward better. And for the smarties out here, I did not drive the truck backwards, I loaded the tractor on the trailer backwards!

What are your thoughts on this? I did a quick search here on the forums, and couldn't seem to find anyone backwards towing.

Also I would like to see where everyone puts their chains on the tractor when they tie them down, so post pictures on this one please. I just want to make sure I am doing it right and fix any problems now, before it becomes an issue.

·
Premium Member
10,067 Posts
I load equipment whichever way sets the weight right. For my tractor, that ends up being loaded facing forward with the rear tires right over the trailer axles.

If you're worried about the hood opening, throw a little strap over it. When I bought my tractor the hood latch didn't work, so I had to do that just to get it home. :laugh:

·
Registered
370 Posts
I trailer our 3038e forward facing & just run a strap diagonally across the hood. I have a small strap just for that. We use an 18' aluminum car hauler and I like the weight distribution better that way.