Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
296 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All, I have about 30 ash trees that need to be dropped on my property - many are near structures and a lift/bucket truck will be used by a professional tree company

Owner tells me he doesn’t like to drive his bucket/lift rig in the winter due to salt on the roads and we should plan on getting the job done in April

does this sound legitimate/reasonable ?

·
Registered
552 Posts
They must not be in need of income ? I bet in the spring they tell you that the ground will be to wet and soft to support their trucks....
It doesn't sound reasonable to me but I'm no expert

·
Registered
214 Posts
I bet you can find another tree company very willing to use their equipment at any time to tackle your job.
I actually can't even believe that's the excuse he's given you. To me, 30 trees all by bucket truck seems like a pretty expensive proposition, and should be well worth chancing his truck on the salt covered roads (lol at even writing this sentence) for some winter income.

·
Premium Member
3,585 Posts
If he’s scared to drive his equipment then how do you feel about trusting him cutting trees near your house? Probably booked and doing the easy jobs till spring. Next

·
Premium Member
11,299 Posts
Sounds pretty lame to me.

I'd be looking for someone that isn't as fast with an excuse to keep sitting on his butt.

·
Premium Member
11,252 Posts
Probably has his crew laid off and doesn't want to call them back to work or he doesn't have a crew right now because they are doing something else at another job.

Some people who struggle their entire lives wonder why and decisions like this one are a perfect example of why. Who knows, maybe his truck is unavailable because the lender has it under lock and key. If he has figured out a way to successfully run his company working half a year, you probably would pay too much for his services anyways.

·
Premium Member
11,252 Posts