509 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How would you fall this tree?

It's leaning against a hickory tree

Attachments

·
Registered
1,973 Posts
Chain up the trunk 3’ or so above the break, attach chain to tractor. Cut tree between chain and break. Pull chain with tractor to free top of stuck tree.

·
Registered
509 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm picturing the tree falling and pulling the tractor with it, it's a pretty big tree.

If I cut between the chain the the break.

I could see cutting a above the chain then pulling because then the tractor is connected to the smallest piece of the tree..

Chain up the trunk 3’ or so above the break, attach chain to tractor. Cut tree between chain and break. Pull chain with tractor to free top of stuck tree.

·
Registered
533 Posts
Hi, I've had very little experience with your situation but the two times it's happened I tied a 3/8" rope to a big wrench and threw it over the tree as high as I could. Then I used the 3/8" rope to pull a very long 3/4" polypropylene rope over the tree. I tied a bowline around the other end of the rope to make a cinch. I cinched the rope around the tree put the rope through a pulley fixed to another tree and tied another loop at the other end of the rope and put it around one of the tow hooks attached to my truck and pulled it down. If you decide to pull the tree down I'd suggest that you use a pulley and pull away from the direction of the falling tree. Much safer. Good luck, let us know how you made out.

·
Registered
4,249 Posts