Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Iam new to this site but I have already gleamed some wonderful info by reading the threads. I am in need of a new tractor and I have settled on looking for a slightly used x720. I have noticed that there are quite a few x720's available with 20 to 60 hrs on them located at JD dealerships in eastern Iowa for around $8,000. Have anyone had experience buying a used tractor from any of the dealerships and having it shipped. I plan on visiting my daughter the first of July and thought I would visit a few of the dealers and see if I can get a good used tractor and have it shipped to the eastern shore of Maryland. Thanks for advise you can provide.

·
Super Moderator
2,699 Posts
Hi, welcome to GTT. I have some experience using Machinefinder. I bought a Wheel Horse 314-8 from Iowa a few years back. Found it on Machinefinder. I had to arrange delivery of it to Missouri with a third party. I also have found a 445 using Machinefinder a couple of years back. Luckily it was at a dealership that was in reasonable driving distance. Currently I'm looking at a 318 that's a couple of states away. I'm exploring options now on how to get it to Missouri. I know of a 330 that I found on MachineFinder a couple of weeks back that was in Illinois, but a guy from Philadelphia came and I missed it.

In my opinion Machinefinder is a good way of finding tractors and equipment, getting a ballpark price on them. The dealerships I worked with have been honest, but they won't go too far out of their way to make a sell on an used machine, but honestly, all of mine have been low priced units. They may be more helpful on shipment and delivery at the higher prices. If a dealer is a multi-dealership, they will move units from store to store, but usually won't to another owned dealership.

·
Registered
375 Posts