Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3,783 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Other than a few hour hands on class a little while ago, I haven't welded in 25 years. I fired up the MigMax 215 for the first time tonight. After playing around some, on flat plate, I did these two welds before I came in for dinner. Much more practice to come.

6JsmaA6oUplm4qqDGjX7uMhgavywF2eTfGX9-Pi6KdgHKutqvVpBjJB8Yb6lAZ7vRD5yJw7h-wfvV_hfuxTmcwFqY5Oeon2p.jpg

I turned up the wire speed a little as well as slowed down some.

aySHKs3qHtB1ylcWrwvCvK3LZubFAeq_VIjHhnQ2eKkA0ntgPCzXGj6XGPOF2RT24GS0ymIR46dhxYflOtVZTvRf08hq99FX.jpg

I'll be practicing a lot this weekend, any feedback on these so far?

·
Premium Member
994 Posts
I'm not an expert by any stretch, but I'd be proud of both of those welds. Very even and consistent. Good job!:bigthumb:

·
Registered
592 Posts
The top one looks like your travel speed is too fast, and also inconsistent. The bottom one looks like you slowed down, but the weld leg is a little big. So you can either speed your travel up or turn your wire speed down. Watch a lot of "welding tips and tricks" on youtube is the best advice I can give.

Four biggest factors in the weld are voltage, wire speed, travel speed, and stickout (distance from the tip to the material). Gas/flux core are things that matter, too. But the ones you can affect at your fingertips are those four. If your machine has presets, you still control the last two. So you either tweak settings to fit your style, or learn to weld like your machine expects you to.

Watch some videos and learn how they things you do after you pull the trigger affect your weld, and you'll be cruising along in no time.

·
Registered
592 Posts
:thumbup1gif: