Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
373 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie at welding. I took a semester course at our community college and recently purchased my first machine. I need lots of practice so I have picked up a bunch of scrap to use. In class we used fire bricks on top of our tables to hold materials. For practicing I was thinking the same but want to see what suggestions you might have. Also where would one purchase firebricks. I suspect a building supply company, but thought I would ask. Thanks. Greg

·
Premium Member
10,057 Posts
Fire bricks have no real advantage, honestly this is the first time I've heard of them being used as a welding surface. A good steel workbench or welding table would be my choice. Almost anything will work, but the thicker the top and stronger the legs the better.

·
Senior GTT Super Slacker
36,069 Posts
I agree with 56FordGuy. Steel tables are the way to go. You can tack weld the item you are welding to the steel table if need be. You can just ground the table and you're good to go. I would also think bricks would break up fairly easy. What type of welder did you get?

·
Registered
503 Posts
Like 56FordGuy says, it is not common to use fire bricks for welding. That being said, I took a course many many years ago and you didn't mention if it was oxy-acetylene welding or electric. With torch welding, they might have used the bricks to keep the work off the table so that the heat wouldn't soak away into the table and stay in the work piece. With electric welding, they might have used the fire bricks to keep the newbies from messing up the table top and having to regrind it all the time.

Experiment lots and have fun. Send photos along so we can see how you're doing.:munch:

·
Super Moderator
4,887 Posts
I took a community college welding course last spring and they used firebrick as well. Maybe it's just a current "school thing"?