Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 82 Posts

·
Premium Member
10,067 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It's clear reading through the posts on here that we have members from a wide variety of backgrounds, with incredibly diverse skill sets. I thought it would be fun to see what we all did for 40/50/ however many hours a week. :)

I'm an industrial equipment mechanic currently, been doing this for about 8 years. Forklifts, scissor lifts, boom lifts, if it lifts we probably fix 'em. :) I worked on semi trucks and heavy equipment before I moved into this. I also run a blacksmithing and metalwork shop, with the occasional repair on farm or construction equipment. :thumbup1gif:

·
Registered
4,401 Posts
Great idea for a new thread:good2:

I manage the engineering department for a small (100 employee) investment casting foundry. We cast stainless steels, carbon steels, cobalt alloys, nickel alloys and a couple of bronze alloys. (we don't do any aluminum). For those who are interested, we do all air melt, no inert atmosphere or vacuum melting. Our product line varies, lots of gun parts, pump parts, and various automotive and commercial, and a few aerospace parts. We cast parts weighing from a few hundredths of a pound up to about 75 lbs. Been doing this for almost 7 years.

Before that, I was in the high performance electrical conductor industry. Silver, nickel and tin plated conductors we sold to the insulators using the teflon (and other) type insulations. The final markets were for military and commercial aircraft and some shipboard.

Before that I was in naval nuclear reactor design and development, but that was a long time ago.

I look forward to reading everyone else's profession :munch:

·
Premium Member
7,690 Posts