Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 3038e( no rear SCV valve) and am at 8000' altitude(power loss). I'm thinking a 5' rear tilting blade would do the job, is the 3038 stout enough to move all that dirt ? I'm pretty new to tractors. Is there a better implement to think about? My idea was to start across the 25 degree slope with the blade level to start creating a levelpad, and then working my way down the hill to get the pad going. Any comment suggestions will be appreciated - thanks!

·
Super Moderator
5,377 Posts
I use a 5' rear blade with my 2032R all the time so a 3038E should have no problem handling one but.... Blade size isn't everything. Moving loose "dirt" is very different than moving rock, sand, etc.. What does this area of land consist of?

If you're going to be breaking ground for this, you'd probably find that a 5' box blade would get the job done much faster. A box blade has scarifiers to dig into compacted ground and break it up so that the "box" can then move the loosened soil. Once you get things close to level, you can pull the scarifiers up and just use the box to finish leveling.

Reactions: ttazzman

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
wow, quick response, thank you! I thought of a box blade but then I would be working with the slope, instead of carving it out. Or do they have tilting box blades? The ground is virgin, packed dirt, I guess it's called decomposing granite, no rocks, native grasses and occasional sagebrush.

·
Premium Member
808 Posts
Full size track hoe....

·
Premium Member
14,150 Posts
wow, quick response, thank you! I thought of a box blade but then I would be working with the slope, instead of carving it out. Or do they have tilting box blades? The ground is virgin, packed dirt, I guess it's called decomposing granite, no rocks, native grasses and occasional sagebrush.