Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! New guy here again. My 1025R should arrive by the end of this month and I am chomping at the bit...
What made you choose a John Deere 1025R/1023 over other brands? Me after many searches, I narrowed my choice to the two main brands, John Deere and Kubota. Mainly for built quality and the warranty these companies will still be there in the future, compare to lesser known brands. I am new to the tractor world, I am more acquainted with the world of photography. In this world there are also two main brands competing for supremacy; Canon and Nikon. There are several lesser brands and even if they are very good they are more likely to fade away in the future. This coming from a guy who had heavily invested in Pentax gears to find out Pentax is now only a shadow of its former self.

In my case the dealership for John Deere is only at 13 km from me, as the Kubota's dealer is at over 25 km. Also after looking at many reviews, especially the comparison between Kubota and John Deere videos made by TTWT. For me it was the auto connect mower and the ease with which it could be removed and re-installed compared to the fact you had to wrestle on your back with the Kubota,s mower, that was the deal breaker for me. Also the John Deere seems to be a stronger machine as far as lift capacity goes. what was your deal breaker?

·
Registered
203 Posts
Here are my top three for the 1025r:
1. Oil cooler for the hydraulics on the 1025r vs fan on the kubota
2. Auto connect drive over deck, what a pain it was to remove the deck on my old x495. That plus the deck really needs to be removed for loader work.
3. Position control on the 3 point hitch. If you plan to run a box blade or land plane you'll know why.

I guess my 4th option would be the dealer network. There is only one Kubota dealer in a 35 mile range from where I live. There are five JD dealers in my area.

·
Registered
2,689 Posts