Green Tractor Talk banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
771 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I been thinking about getting an air ratchet to take out the plugs in my van but don't know what size head to get,3/8 or 1/2". I know the 3/8 head is smaller but is it that much smaller than a 1/2". Thanks

·
Registered
771 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I just talked to the service manager at my Ford dealership and he warned me not to use an air ratchet to remove plugs, to do it by hand, so I'm going to pass on the air ratchet.

·
Banned
747 Posts
What was his reasoning, galling the threads if the plug is seized/corroded? That would be my take on it. I used to be a pro motorcycle mechanic and have always removed plugs and glow plugs in diesels by hand for that reason. If they don't come out easy then it's time to figure a way of of breaking the grip first. Air tools could be unforgiving....

I just talked to the service manager at my Ford dealership and he warned me not to use an air ratchet to remove plugs, to do it by hand, so I'm going to pass on the air ratchet.

·
Registered
771 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
What was his reasoning, galling the threads if the plug is seized/corroded? That would be my take on it. I used to be a pro motorcycle mechanic and have always removed plugs and glow plugs in diesels by hand for that reason. If they don't come out easy then it's time to figure a way of of breaking the grip first. Air tools could be unforgiving....
That's exactly right dellwas, he said his mechanics all remove plugs by hand. I'm going to jack up the truck and take the front tires off like I did on another vehicle I owned to see if I can get at the plugs from the fender wells. Just to change the distributor cap and rotor was hard because of the impossible place it sets under the airfilter box and 3 or 4" air duct hoses to the fuel injection body. I had to remove them to get at the distributor and it was still a bear to change the wires in the cap.