Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been using a X300 for 11 years now and has served me mostly well. I use it in winter for snow with a blower and that is my main issue. The tractor can get stuck on flat ground if slippery at all. Chains and weights are no help and i myself an 220lbs. Have been looking at Posi drive units in the 500 series 570 is nice but once you are up to the 590 the price gets a bit staggering.(i can only fit 48 inch deck in shed) We are talking small car prices. I have put new trans in x300 last year. Should i just add more weights or take the plunge and at least step up to the 570 so i can get the Locking diff option.
Any constructive input would be appreciated.

·
Registered
3,829 Posts
For what your doing a garden tractor is the way to go.I just bought a x590 the previous 345 was still going but wanted the new features.I for sure got my money worth out of 21 years. So you may pay a lot at the start but you have to look at the longevity of what your getting.

·
Registered
447 Posts
An x5 is what you are looking for. If the new tractor price is too steep then looked at the used market. There are generally a good selection of tractors with less than 200hrs on them for thousands of dollars off new prices.

·
Registered
1,305 Posts
I would go find an older X748 or an X5 or 4 with 4WD. Most of the attachments you can get for the new tractors are compatible with those generations of tractors. You can find low hour machines that will fit the bill.

I'm surprised you have a 11 years out of a x300. It doesn't owe you anything.