Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking for opinions on what weed eater to buy. I'll be using it on fence row and around the house. I want one to last so I don't mind spending a little more. Thanks

·
Premium Member
10,067 Posts
Lots of good options, depending on how much you want to spend and need to trim. I've been using a Stihl FS90 for about 7-8 years now and have been very happy with it.

Here's a thread with a good discussion on trimmers you might enjoy as well. :good2:

·
Registered
523 Posts
I have an Echo and love it. Starts every time, runs good.

I have been looking at the walk behinds at Lowes and TSC. I'd probably just end up doing MORE trimming if I had it though.

Reactions: BigJim55

·
Registered
131 Posts
Stihl FS90 - never looked back. I went through 3 cheeps before I learned.

Reactions: BigJim55 and Levi

·
GTT's Pilot in Command (PIC)
8,558 Posts
I have an Echo. Starts every time, but the rest of it is JUNK. Sort of like buying a Big Box Store Honda mower. Engine starts easily, but you begin replacing the rest of the machine in the first season of use.

Maybe old models were better, but the last 3-4 years....I'll never own another one!

Reactions: BigJim55 and Levi

·
Premium Member
6,035 Posts
I've got two, a Husqvarna w/handlebars that will handle brush & saw blades when needed, that I mainly use at the farm anymore. Nothing wrong with Stihl, my dealer isn't what it used to be & that should be a big consideration!

And a Core, battery model, much nicer around the house yard, I keep two batteries & they will do all the trimming I want to do at one time! One battery will do what I trim most of the time, the second one if I'm trimming the back fence.

·
Bonehead Club Lackey
10,269 Posts