Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
10,898 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been meaning to ask this for a while. What is the best technique for welding thin steel to thick steel?

I have a 120V Hobart Handler 140 MIG (flux core) machine and a 250A DC stick welder but I tend to use the stick machine more often. I am completely self taught and do "ok" but needless to say I am a much better grinder than I am a welder. :)

I always struggle when I have to join a thin piece of steel to a thicker piece of steel. If I set the amperage to get good penetration on the thick material then it wants to burn through the thin material. If I use lower amperage so I don't burn through the thin material then I don't get good penetration on the thicker material.

Any words on wisdom?

·
Administrator
20,350 Posts
Your weld is only as strong at the weakest piece of steel. So you weld for the thickness of the thinner material and that’s the best that joint can be. :good2:

You can always add a doubler or even a gusset to add strength if needed.

·
Registered
536 Posts
Your weld is only as strong at the weakest piece of steel. So you weld for the thickness of the thinner material and that’s the best that joint can be. :good2:
I agree

Worked in a welding shop in my previous life . . . that is what we did. :good2:

·
Registered
536 Posts
If you have the space, overlap the two pieces of metal . . . that way you get room for two good welds, one on each side . . . also a very much stronger weld

·
Premium Member
10,898 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
If you have the space, overlap the two pieces of metal . . . that way you get room for two good welds, one on each side . . . also a very much stronger weld