Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For the life of me, I must ask the big advantage of wheels on a landscape rake? I mean...it's up in the air for non-use and down for use? Would someone please straighten me out w/this one? :think:

·
Registered
732 Posts
I am new to the landscape rake. Bought one last year for this coming spring.

But the wheel are there for a "depth gauge" for the rake.

Allows you to just skim the surface for leaves, branches and the like (of course not as good and a hand rake)

Go down and inch or two to losses up and level a layer of soil

Or even deeper to pull up and out the rocks.

The design of a landscape rake is to dig into the ground. And inherently pull itself deeper into the soil. The wheels help keep a consistent depth. Without constant adjustment on the 3pt hitch.

When looking to buy mine, I was suggested to get them by fellow members. You don't always need them but nice to have when you do.

Hope that helps, and someone please correct me if I am off.

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I borrowed one last fall from a buddy...8 footer used a 35 Massey......worked great for cleaning up the mess of rocks and debris i had left after clearing 2 acres of old dead trees. It did an excellent job, however it didn't have any wheels and frankly I couldn't see a need for them as the rake just floated over the ground doing an excellent job of cleaning up. I didn't have any issues w/digging in.

I have ordered one for my lil 26r though as I will have allot of use for it this year as I have much remaining work to do. Still waiting for 2-3' of snow to melt. I think I just may price out a set of wheels though. Thanks for the feedback....greatly appreciated! :good2:

Reactions: UBNT

·
Registered
675 Posts