Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't understand hydraulics that well, and I have yet to use my 3-Point Hitch for anything (still in box).

So, can anyone tell me if this log splitter will work on my 1025r? Log Splitter

Here is the short explanation of requirements:
"The Log Splitter uses hydraulic hoses on your tractor and quick-connect fittings fit to the hoses on your tractor. Tractor requirements are for a Category 1 hitch, between 25 and 65 horsepower. 2500 PSI is recommended and 9 gallons per minute is ideal."

·
Corndog Hater
11,688 Posts
I am no expert, but it's always been my understanding that these 1 series may be able to run a 3PH splitter, but it's going to be slowwwwwww. I am sure some others will be along shortly for a better answer.

·
Registered
3,687 Posts
Gosh,, I am getting old,,
I remember when Surplus Center sold a very similar splitter for $399. :flag_of_truce:

It will split wood,, but, you must have the patience of Job,,, :dunno:

·
Super Moderator
5,112 Posts
Yup. They say "2500 PSI is recommended and 9 gallons per minute is ideal."

Your 1025R only generates 2000 PSI and pumps 3.5 gallons per minute for implement use.

Will it work? Yup. But it will be slooooooowwwwwwwwww......

·
Registered
1,374 Posts
It will be very slow. You pump operates at about 6.3 gpm according to tractordata.com which is about right for a SCUT. You have plenty of PSI just not a fast flow rate. You are at the very low end of the HP requirement. That is a massive log splitter for a small tractor although based on the specs your three point will pick it up. You can get a 25 ton splitter that operates with its own engine for just under $1k at TSC. I would say for most wood you really don't need much more than a 22 ton. When I have rented a splitter it was 22 ton and it handled all the oak I could throw at it and then some.