Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
740 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I work as a welder so naturally my feet live in heavy steel toe and leather work boots for at least ten hours a day. I have always gotten Caterpillar brand boots because my brother works at a place that sells them and can get me amazing discounts. I haven't really tried other brands because of this. I have found that they are good boots in that they last me about a year or two until I either walk the tread off the bottom or burn holes through the top... Not too shabby. The problem is that they aren't very comfortable after the original insoles break down and even the expensive gel insoles only last a few weeks at best.

I need comfortable boots which can also hold up to at least a year of work! Does anyone have any recommendations for either new boots or insoles to keep my current boots around for another couple of months?

·
Administrator
20,708 Posts
I'm a big fan of Red Wing boots. :thumbup1gif: They have stores around here that specialize in work boots. You would be best served by going to a place like that so you can see all of the boots and talk with knowledgeable people.

·
Registered
4,611 Posts
I wear Rocky Eliminators at work. They normally last me about 2 years at work and another 2 years on the farm. Danner also makes a very good boot. Prior to switching to the Rockys, boots lasted me about 6 months.

·
Registered
12,324 Posts
I'm a big fan of Red Wing boots. :thumbup1gif: They have stores around here that specialize in work boots. You would be best served by going to a place like that so you can see all of the boots and talk with knowledgeable people.