Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,185 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New project I'm just getting started . . . wrapping two openings from the dining room to the living room. They are about seven foot wide, six foot high, and about 12" thick. They were created when we remodeled back in the mid eighties and are made-up of the original exterior wall and the second floor support of an addition . . . hence 12" thick.

I 'boxed' them in and moved outlets months ago. Last week I picked-up this maple from my friend Leroy.
IMG-3177.jpg

IMG-3178.jpg

Maple from Leroy . . . These are trimmed and measured so I know what I have to work with.
IMG-3169.jpg

The slabs are warped and twisted so they need some mill-work with a router to make them into useable boards. This will require me to create an eight foot working surface for the milling with a router.

I'm not sure if I'll have enough lumber, there's going to be a significant amount of waste, so we'll see.

More to follow . . .

·
Registered
1,105 Posts
You need a Surface Planer and Table Saw.

·
Registered
393 Posts
All the trim I see in your house is painted. Surely your not going to paint the Maple?

·
Premium Member
5,185 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
You need a Surface Planer and Table Saw.
Bonnie ~ Got both . . . but these slabs are too big for me to handle. 12" wide x 7 1/2' long x 1 1/2" thick is a lot to handle repeatedly through the planer. I'm hoping the router will do 75% of the job and then the surface planer will finish them.

All the trim I see in your house is painted. Surely your not going to paint the Maple?
Sharpie ~ Actually most of the trim is stained and matches our six panel doors. The includes base molding and wood windows.

But back to your question, the answer is no, it will not be painted. It will be stained and top-coated. Missey wants is a little rough/distressed and I'm not sure what that's going to look like at this point.

IMG-3183.jpg

·
Registered
393 Posts