Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, guys. newbie here. have asked for help on another forum with no help so i thought i'd try this one. it concerns the starting procedure for my 2007 X540 i got with 450 hours on the clock. it now has 550 hrs. and i've had this problem since the day i got it home.
according to the manual, starting the engine should go like this...sit in seat, push on brake pedal, turn key to start. pto is off of course.
on mine it's...sit in seat, turn key to run (dash lights come on) push brake pedal, turn key to start and she fires up. if i follow the manual sequence i get nothing when i turn the key.
as far as i know the safety interlocks should be independant in that they don't have to be in any certain order, that is to say i could bypass the seat safety switch, bypass the pto safety switch, push the brake pedal, turn the key and it should start.
any ideas as to why my tractor is acting so squirrely?

·
Registered
3,867 Posts
Have you checked the ignition switch.

·
Registered
3,228 Posts
What happens when you leave the brake pedal locked down?

·
Premium Member
1,128 Posts
Have you bypassed the RIO and seat switch to confirm those are not the problem ? :wgtt:

·
Premium Member
8,784 Posts
Just to make sure I am clear on this, if you sit on the seat and turn the key and THEN push the brake pedal, that is the only way it will start?

What happens if you leave the parking brake locked and attempt to start it?

Any difference?

Is there any other difference in the dash lights or anything else that you notice if you follow the manuals instructions?

If you don't have the Factory Technical Service manual for your tractor, I would strongly suggest buying the disc or the book if you can find it. It will have the detailed schematic of the harness and systems which will aid in seeing exactly how they interact with one another.