Green Tractor Talk banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm working on an X758 that has an autoconnect deck. When I got the tractor, the mower drive shaft was missing, and the auto-connect bearing housing was busted and dangling. I installed a new shaft, bearing, and bearing housing, and that all went well. However, when the lift arms are in the lowered position to mount the deck, the drive shaft maxes out on length, and the female coupler ends up pointing upwards, rather than being parallel to the ground as needed to align with the mower deck shaft. I'm new to this arrangement, but I'm pretty sure it cannot work like it is. Ideas?

·
Registered
1,308 Posts
You replaced the shaft from the auto-connect coupler back to the trans PTO? Or something else?

As for the fit problem, is it possible the mounting brackets for the auto-connect coupler are bent? If the 'bearing housing' (which I assume is the coupler) was mangled maybe they ran into something while it was lowered and bent stuff. That's the likeliest answer I can think of.

Pics would be helpful

Rob

·
Registered
92 Posts
You probably got it assembled wrong. Have you got any manuals? I have one for installing the auto connect "M171211". I guess I could try to scan it for you.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
You replaced the shaft from the auto-connect coupler back to the trans PTO? Or something else?

As for the fit problem, is it possible the mounting brackets for the auto-connect coupler are bent? If the 'bearing housing' (which I assume is the coupler) was mangled maybe they ran into something while it was lowered and bent stuff. That's the likeliest answer I can think of.

Pics would be helpful

Rob
Yes, I replaced the entire shaft from the mid PTO to to the coupler, including the auto connect coupler, the coupler bearing, and the bearing housing. The brackets appeared to be perfectly straight so I did not replace them.

AutoConnect.JPG

·
Premium Member