Green Tractor Talk banner

Z997 won't start

3879 Views 26 Replies 6 Participants Last post by  SRG
My Z997 (bought 2010) won't start. I get an error code of 3-2 which indicates low voltage. I took the battery cables off and the multimeter shows 12.97V. I replaced the Start Relay. I pulled the cover off the fuse box and both are ok as are the diodes. I am not a mechanic.

Any thoughts on what could be wrong? Does anyone know the part # of these diodes?

Gesture Finger Thumb Wrist Gadget

Tints and shades Rectangle Fashion accessory Auto part Shadow

Vehicle Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive design Automotive exterior
Reactions: driveshaft
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
I cleaned the battery posts and cable connectors, still won't start. I will check the chassis side connections next, thank you.
Reactions: driveshaft and SRG
I sanded and cleaned the neg connectors on the chassis and the engine. I checked the post cable connection to the starter motor and it is tight. The 3-2 yellow code is gone but the low engine oil pressure light continues to blink erratically. I did not think to mention this red light earlier, sorry. Still won't start.
Not cranking at all. I think I am hearing the fuel pump but that is it. PTO? This is a Z997 zero turn lawn mower. I don't think there is a PTO. I changed the oil myself Just 2 days ago, right after I found out it would not start. I just now check the oil level and it is up to the full mark on the dip stick. The last time I had this in to the dealer was 2016 because it would not start. They put in a new battery. Even though the battery shows 12.97V using the multimeter, could it be that it needs to be replaced?
Also the parking brake is set, the handles are apart, and mower engage knob is pushed in, and I sit on the seat when turning the ignition key.